Painting issues

I may have indicated this in the past, but for me this whole experiment is about determination and accomplishment. I find that I am an exceptional procrastinator and am not as determined as I could be. Whether I doubt myself too often or am simply not willing to put in the hard work to get somewhere, I find that there’s not a whole lot I can affix to my name that I would like to show off.

Growing up, I always thought I would become some crazy painter, I was pretty committed for a while and produced some decent stuff. But not being allowed to go to university for a BFA really dashed those dreams for me. So I learned to rely on other skills that I had and honed them instead. I haven’t painted since the spring of 2009, which means it’s long overdue. I have been experimenting with ideas for the style and have almost decided on the size. I may only be at my work until February, or they may decide to keep me, but I have decided I need a painting for my office. It will take some time and be a pretty busy piece but my main concern is having a place to paint. Does anyone have any suggestions? I’m thinking I would need to store the piece at the location in between sessions, due to its intended size.

I don’t paint with oils anymore, so ventilation isn’t as much of a concern. But I do need a workspace. If you have a spare room that you wouldn’t mind lending for a few weeks as a workshop, that would be cool. I could pay a fee for the space too. Alternatively, if anyone knows of any studios that are in the downtown core and easy to get to, I’d like to know if I would be able to use this space!

One response

  1. Pingback: June and the half-year recap | 25on25

Leave a Reply

