Actually Running

Actually running for longer than a minute has never been a forte of mine. I can sprint for the bus like nobody’s business (in heels!), but frankly, I have no stamina.

The whole purpose of this goal is to be able to improve and be able to measure it. That’s why I chose to run faster rather than longer. Since I cannot successfully run a mile (yet), the going is rough. The idea is to increase my cardio levels a lot and keep it that way. Besides, six minutes isn’t that long, and I do pretty well for myself within 4 minutes. It’s just getting past that and keeping on running is the toughest part right now. People who say they run X number of km astound me. Because I think they actually run it, and that’s what makes me nervous — I’m unable to keep running that fast for long enough.

So far though, I am biking 5km each way in the mornings and evenings to and from work. This only halves the metro stops to get there, but is just under 1/3 of the way. This is part of improving and increasing my abilities. I also run two to three times a week, but lately am only averaging once per week. It’s disappointing. All of this is, actually. It freaks me out that I might not be able to accomplish this in time.

Frankly, it’s a balancing act. I’m a person who needs her own time, in addition to working, commuting, family time and keeping a social life. It all adds up, and me time doesn’t count as sleeping or doing anything I am obligated to do. And while I feel like running is a great place to do some serious thinking, it’s not exactly a pen-and-paper-accessible activity. I’d like to accumulate me time spent running, but the time I need to spend by myself disagrees. I mean, talk about first-world problems, but I’d like to know if you think this is spoiled? Personally, I find I come up with more interesting ideas when left to my own devices. It’s a lot more than that, but I require both conscious and unconscious (sleep) time for reflection.

One response

  1. Pingback: June and the half-year recap | 25on25

Leave a Reply

