My most boring goal: touch typing

I am trying to type this whole post by touch-type. I still don’t know how to type without staring at the keys and only using four fingers. This is sad and embarrassing but I really need to learn how. I mean I’m a writer dammit! And this is one of the skills I should have. Ugh I am taking a break.

Ok, back to my story. Man, this is tedious at this (snail’s) pace. So back in the day I was supposed to learn how to type because my parents could tell that this would be an important skill. This last sentence just took 5 minutes to write. So many errors. And I just almost put myself to sleep.

Anyway, so I sort of learned how to type without looking at the keyboard. But I never actually used that skill outside of the practice, because I could always look at the keyboard in real life. And now I’m paying for that laziness in a figurative sense so that I can basically catch up. Now I try to spend at least 15 minutes every day to practice. I’ve been doing this for almost two weeks, and I am so tired of this junk. I’m fairly certain this has taken me almost half an hour writing this but I have no idea why. Even my break didn’t take that long!

At any rate that’s what my thought process sounds like at the slowest pace ever. My fingers need to catch up. Make it snappy!

2 responses

  1. It will take a while for you to develop that skill. It definitely doesn’t happen over night! But with more and more practice you’ll eventually get the hang of it 🙂

  2. Pingback: June and the half-year recap | 25on25

Leave a Reply

