Developing a yoga routine

This week I’ve been to yoga twice, and I’m intending on going a third time. Maybe even a fourth? We’ll see! I’m trying not to overdo it, but I had missed it.

So I decided to take advantage of my gym membership being frozen, and head to a yoga studio that I love. My membership will be back on next week, so in the meantime I am stretching things out and enjoying my kaleidoscopic midday dreams during shivasana.

Oh yeah, I totally fall asleep at the end. I’ve been doing that since I was a kid.

Honestly though, even though genetically I fall under the bendy category, I am not super strong and now I find my flexibility sucks. Perhaps I loved yoga cause it was simple for me to just fall into various poses. Now I really have to work at it. But I’ll be happy to do so, and get strong too!

Ideally with this weekly practice, I’d like to get to a point where I would be more comfortable practicing by myself at home. I love going to classes, and I have worked on my practice at home, but it’s not consistent. It’s something that I like and is good for me, so I’d rather cultivate this as a habit instead of watching more TV, for example. Perhaps this is also the year I can throw off my fear of head stands and do one!

Perhaps I won’t fall asleep next time either!

Leave a Reply

